Natural jewel in tyrol

Kaunergrat Nature Park

The Kaunergrat Nature Park was established more than 20 years ago. It is named after the Kaunergrat, a rugged and wild mountain range that rises between the Pitztal and Kaunertal valleys. The Hotel Sonnblick in Plangeross in the middle of the nature park is the perfect starting point to explore this unique natural landscape.

589 km² total area, 84 three-thousand-metre peaks, 9 nature park communities, 7 protected areas - the numbers of the Kaunergrat Nature Park may impress. Much more impressive is the natural landscape that characterises the Kaunergrat. Hardly any other north-south mountain range in Tyrol has such a wild and rugged character over such a short distance. Rocky cirques, steep peaks, icy glaciers, but also centuries-old cultural landscapes can be found on the 28 kilometres between the Innauen (750 m) in the north and the Wildspitze (3768 m) in the south.  

We invite you to discover the Kaunergrat Nature Park right outside our hotel door in summer and winter and to let yourself be enchanted by the special power and beauty of nature!

Nature Park House

The Nature Park House am Gachenblick was opened in 2007 and is considered the gateway to the nature park. Not only because of its panoramic location at the "Gachenblick", where people have left their traces for thousands of years. But also because of its appealing architectural design, the informative exhibition "3000 m VERTIKAL" and the wonderful sun terrace of the restaurant, the nature park house is worth a visit.
TipNearby is the natural monument Piller Moor, where visitors can learn about the formation of moors on a circular hiking trail.

Rifflsee

The Rifflsee at 2288 m above sea level is the largest cirque lake in the Ötztal Alps. Visitors can enjoy the fantastic view of the mountain lake on easy circular hiking trails, which is also easily accessible thanks to the Rifflsee cable car.
TipOn Europe's highest raft trip you can also experience the lake from the water.

Kaunergrat hut

The Kaunergrat hut lies at an altitude of 2,817 m in the heart of the Kaunergrat. The highest refuge in the Pitztal valley is a challenging day's destination for mountain hikers with a four-hour ascent. Climbers and alpinists are drawn to the Wazespitze (3532 m), the highest peak of the Kaunergrat, via the well-known east ridge. The Kaunergrat hut, to which you set off from Plangeross, is famous for its excellent cuisine and the friendly hospitality of the Dobler family.

TOP 10 NATURE JEWELS IN THE NATURE PARK KAUNERGRAT

In the Kaunergrat Nature Park, visitors are spoilt for choice. One natural jewel follows the next. The most beautiful places in the nature park region Pitztal-Kaunertal-Fließ can be found here.

Hunting & wild

Ibex Centre St. Leonhard

The ibex not only proudly adorns the coat of arms of the municipality of St. Leonhard. After the successful reintroduction in the 1950s, the largest colony of ibex in the Eastern Alps lives here today with around 1200 specimens.

Opened in 2020, the Tyrolean Ibex Centre in St. Leonhard is dedicated to the ambivalent history of the relationship between man, nature and culture in the Pitztal valley. The visitor centre houses a photographic exhibition, an information point and a restaurant. The centrepiece is the walk-in ibex enclosure, where ibex and marmots can be observed up close.

The aim is to make the Ibex Centre a centre for education and training in the field of Hunting & Game to develop.

Winter in the Pitztal

A little quieter, a little wilder, a little more genuine than elsewhere. Winter on the roof of Tyrol. Let yourself be enchanted by the mountain winter at the Sonnblick.

Subscribe to the newsletter

Naturjuwel in tirol

Naturpark Kaunergrat

Der Naturpark Kaunergrat wurde vor mehr als 20 Jahren ins Leben gerufen. Namensgeber ist der Kaunergrat, ein schroffer und wilder Gebirgszug, der zwischen den Tälern Pitztal und Kaunertal emporragt. Das Hotel Sonnblick in Plangeross mitten im Naturpark ist der perfekte Ausgangspunkt, um diese einzigartige Naturlandschaft zu erkunden.

589 km² Gesamtfläche, 84 Dreitausender, 9 Naturparkgemeinden, 7 Schutzgebiete – die Zahlen des Naturparks Kaunergrat mögen beeindrucken. Viel imposanter noch ist die Naturlandschaft, die den Kaunergrat prägt. Kaum ein anderes Nord-Südgebirge in Tirol weist auf einer solch kurze Strecke einen derartig wilden und schroffen Charakter auf. Felsige Kare, steile Gipfel, eisige Gletscher, aber auch Jahrhunderte alte Kulturlandschaften finden sich auf den 28 Kilometern zwischen den Innauen (750 m) im Norden und der Wildspitze (3768 m) im Süden.  

Wir laden Euch ein, im Sommer und Winter den Naturpark Kaunergrat vor unsere Hoteltüre zu entdecken und Euch von der besonderen Kraft und Schönheit der Natur verzaubern zu lassen!

Naturparkhaus

Das Naturparkhaus am Gachenblick wurde 2007 eröffnet und gilt als das Tor zum Naturpark. Nicht nur wegen seines aussichtsreichen Standorts am „Gachenblick“, wo Menschen schon seit Jahrtausenden ihre Spuren hinterlassen haben. Sondern auch wegen seiner ansprechenden architektonischen Gestaltung, der informativen Ausstellung „3000 m VERTIKAL“ und der herrlichen Sonnenterrasse des Restaurants ist das Naturparkhaus ein Besuch wert.
Tipp: Gleich in der Nähe befindet sich das Naturdenkmal Piller Moor, wo Besucher auf einem Rundwanderweg Informatives über die Entstehung von Mooren erfahren.

Rifflsee​

Der Rifflsee auf 2288 m Seehöhe ist der größte Karsee der Ötztaler Alpen. Auf leichten Rundwanderwegen genießen Besucher den fantastischen Blick auf den Bergsee, der zudem dank der Rifflseebahn bequem erreichbar ist.
Tipp: Auf Europas höchster Floßfahrt lässt sich der See auch vom Wasser aus erleben.

Kaunergrathütte​

Die Kaunergrathütte liegt auf 2.817 m Höhe mitten im Herzen des Kaunergrats. Die höchstgelegene Schutzhütte des Pitztals ist mit vier Stunden Zustieg ein anspruchsvolles Tagesziel für Bergwanderer. Kletterer und Alpinisten zieht es über den bekannten Ostgrat auf die Wazespitze (3532 m), den höchsten Gipfel des Kaunergrats. Berühmt ist die Kaunergrathütte, zu der man von Plangeross aus aufbricht, für die ausgezeichnete Kulinarik und die freundliche Bewirtung der Familie Dobler.

TOP 10 NATURJUWELE IM NATURPARK KAUNERGRAT

Im Naturpark Kaunergrat haben Besucher die Qual der Wahl. Ein Naturjuwel reiht sich an das nächste. Die schönste Plätze der Naturparkregion Pitztal-Kaunertal-Fließ findet Ihr hier.

Jagd & wild

Steinbockzentrum St. Leonhard

Der Steinbock ziert nicht nur stolz das Wappen der Gemeinde St. Leonhard. Nach der erfolgreichen Wiederansiedlung in den 1950er-Jahren lebt hier heute die größte Steinwildkolonie der Ostalpen mit rund 1200 Exemplaren.

Das 2020 eröffnete Tiroler Steinbockzentrum in St. Leonhard widmet sich der ambivalenten Beziehungsgeschichte zwischen Mensch, Natur und Kultur im Pitztal. Im Besucherzentrum befindet sich eine fotografische Ausstellung, eine Infostelle und ein Restaurant. Herzstück ist das begehbare Steinbockgehege, in dem sich Steinböcke und Murmeltiere aus nächster Nähe beobachten lassen.

Ziel ist es, das Steinbockzentrum zu einem Zentrum der Aus- und Weiterbildung im Bereich Jagd & Wild zu entwickeln.

Winter im Pitztal

Etwas ruhiger, etwas wilder, etwas echter als anderswo. Der Winter am Dach Tirols. Lass Dich verzaubern vom Bergwinter im Sonnblick.

Zum Newsletter Anmelden